This was what I was going for with the grain feeding and ewe “flushing”- a perfect line with each ewe eating out of her own bucket. That way I can manage how much each one eats, and prevent the big ewes from hogging most of the grain. It only took about a week of effort for them to learn to come for grain, and seek out their own bowls. The bowls break my “no plastic” rule a little bit, but these were cheap paint buckets from Home Depot.

I worked on the ram’s hooves tonight, they also needed some work. They had some splits and pockets, but were generally having a healthy response. I prefer to see them a little cracked and dried rather than moist and soft. Bacteria has a harder time attacking in the former. Here is one hoof, with one side trimmed, the other side not. You can see how the sides are curling over, and need to be removed and flattened so they don’t create a place for material to compact.

 Here are the hoof trimmers I like to use. Though even garden pruners will do, I like these straight and pointy cutters. They can really dig in and open up tiny crevices.

