People like to anthropomorphize dogs a lot, and often assume that they share our same preferences and desires. But, in fact, much of the time, I disagree with the dogs’ assertions. Just yesterday:

image

It’s an emergency! Gene has already gotten into the ditch to swim by going through the gate on the other side. It’s not fair, open the gate, open the gate, I want to swim too! What? No, I’m not being demanding and obnoxious, this is a true emergency, I’m hysterical about this.

image

One hundred times in a row is not an excessive expectation for a fetching game! Don’t worry if I look near-collapse, I’m really up for some more. Kick it again, kick it again!

image

It’s never too cold for a swim… Even if you show signs of hypothermia and are in actual pain- just keep swimming, it’s fun! C’mon, throw another blade of grass in here so we can fight over it. You don’t know what you’re missing.

image

Who needs chlorine and a filter? Murky algae water makes a splendid pool. And we don’t need to be toweled off when we come back into the house, we’re too impatient for that. It’s not a big deal if we spray mud all over the walls and then go sleep on the bed. Under the covers.

If the collies could articulate their philosophies, I think that’s what they’d say.

