905CleoSaturday brought two more ewes into labor, in the afternoon and evening.

I was trying to get stuff done on the house, when Kirk hollered in that there was another lamb born. This is #KMC905, a one of last year’s triplet daughters out of #KRK33. She had a nice single white ewe, nearly 8 lbs. I shall have to sell this lamb to someone who names their sheep, because surely she should be called Cleopatra: check out her eyeliner! 🙂 These are the only markings on her body.

RightEye LeftEye

So, that was all good and uneventful. In the evening, #KMC906 went into labor and had teeny, tiny twin ewes: 6 lbs 6 oz, and 5 lbs 10 oz. This #906 I had hopes for, her mother is #HHS107, who I think is one of my nicest ewes. #107 is a very large, Dorper-looking ewe with a big, meaty butt. She had twins last year, this #906 plus a ram lamb that I raised for meat, and he turned out very nice. So, I figured her daughter would come through with some good stuff too.

DiluteEweAnd, twins is good, yes. Small might not bother me completely if they were in good flesh. I think the biggest concern with small lambs is they just don’t have a lot of body mass to stay warm, they can chill easily, not want to nurse, and then can go downhill. But small, chunky lambs born in nice weather with good milk input can still do OK. However these lambs were kinda skinny, in addition to being small. So, then I worry.

Their mother is not skinny, however, so one could hope she’ll make up for in milk what she didn’t do in the womb. These twins were born fairly early, on day 144, and fast, the brown one first. The white one came out about ten minutes later, backwards; she shot out still enclosed in her water bag, which burst like a water balloon when she clunked onto the ground from her still standing mother! 🙂 They both nursed well though, so for the moment, things were ok.

I went to check on the sheep at midnight. Lo and behold, this lady had left the brown lamb at one end of the field and was grazing, unconcerned, with the white on at the other end (well, the Electronet enclosure is only about 200’ long, but still, that’s a long ways away to leave a newborn lamb). I was about to give her an F for mothering, and went to deliver her lamb to her. But this lamb is so dang passive and laid back, she does not nicker, so it’s no wonder her mother didn’t know she was missing. I tried pinching the lamb, shaking her, hanging her upside down; anything to annoy her, get her to complain, to stimulate her mother to come and protect her. Nothing, this lamb is like a ragdoll, nothing bothers her. But she nurses fine, walks fine, and her belly is full, even this morning. So, humph. I’ll just have to keep an eye on them.

The good news is, all of the small yearling ewes are done, so knock on wood, no more tiny ants should be born. There are two yearling ewes left to lamb, but they are big girls with big bellies. And three more experienced ladies, from whom I anticipate no troubles. I am tired!

