Nest1 I found this little bird nest, empty and abandoned, in the pasture. I love bird nests. I think it hearkens back to my childhood and my mother’s glee of discovery in finding them. She saves them and uses them for decor, as do I.

They are so amazingly well crafted, each right-sized for the babies that will inhabit it, each constructed with a different set of natural resources. What wonder there is in a bird’s instinct to labor in creating these little engineered structures each year! This one is modest, made from the wide blades of reed canary grass woven together, and smaller grass blades inside. 

Nest2

I cannot find a way to identify the species of bird who made it, without buying a book. This cool website has helped me narrow down birds by traits before, but it lacks nest descriptions as a search characteristic. Any ideas?

