KitchenLambIIAnd so the craziness that is lambing has begun. The initial two very early lambs did fine until Sunday, when I could see one trying to crawl off on his own, away from the flock and his own mother. This sort of I’m getting ready to die behavior seems universal amongst animals, when they start to shut down, they seek out quiet and alone. I brought him into the  house and warmed him up by the woodstove. Kitchen Lamb II.

He still didn’t revive enough to want to bottle feed, so I tube-fed him twice. He seemed physically OK, just passive. I worried about pneumonia, but before treating with antibiotics, I took his temperature to verify fever, a sign of infection. He was actually still too cold, only 100 degrees (normal is 102-103). So I bundled him up on a heating pad and crated him. By evening, he was up and drinking from a bottle on his own. It’s just amazing how robust lambs are.

Today he’s spunky and hungry, but has some weight to gain back after kind of being in stasis for a day. He has developed an eye infection too, maybe he scratched it. I didn’t have any eye ointment on hand, so made a simple wash of saltwater and goldenseal, and that seems to have remedied it. I’m hoping if I can get him on the grow again, maybe his mother will take him back, since they had bonded for three days.

LambCoatHere is his brother on the back of the ATV, getting a little once-over. This little dude has a crooked left front leg, kind of a club foot. From what I’ve read, sometimes this is a genetic defect, but other times it is caused by awkward positioning in the womb, especially with multiple birth pregnancies. He is running around fine, so I won’t worry about it, he’ll be castrated anyway. Maybe it’ll straighten out with weight bearing exercise.

Lamb Jackets

I have synthetic fleece lamb coats from Premier, but was frustrated with the dark red and blue colors last year, it’s hard to find the lambs in the pasture in the dark! I wanted a huge pile of coats this year, because I like to change and wash them often. They looked easy to sew. So I bought three yards of fleece, and picked out something easier to see at night- this yellow and purple checkerboard seemed the most practical and was on sale.

Kirk gave me a hard time about choosing Husky colors (I’m a Coug), but I thought of them more as Best of Breed ribbon colors, from dog showing. Winking smile I thought the checkerboard looked appropriately like racing material. I wasn’t sure if the ewes would object, as I’ve seen on Premier’s product review website that some people find their ewes will reject lambs with coats that are not natural colors. But so far, so good. And yeah, I can definitely find these lambs in the dark!! Open-mouthed smile

