Last spring I sheared Lolita, my half-Jacob, half-Katahdin ewe (that my mother named!). Her modest pound of wool seemed too little to sell, but I didn’t want to just throw it away. A couple of years ago, I first met Denise of in Sheep’s Clothing online, discussing sheep minerals. Then I started running into her at sheep classes at local conferences! I emailed her to ask if she could use the wool, and she said, sure, mail it to me. So I did.

I was not expecting a return package, but last week, a pair of fingerless mittens arrived! They are very cute, and will come in handy (no pun intended) for winter chores. Honestly, I usually wear those cheap one-size-fits-all synthetic stretchy gloves that you can get for a dollar, but they wear out quickly. These are a far superior replacement.

I was convinced that Lo didn’t have any hair fibers in her wool, being only a 50% Katahdin. But now that I see her wool knitted up, I can spot a few wiry hair fibers sneaking out! Either she does have some hair fibers, or they are from the other sheep and get stuck in her wool as it grows. Katahdin hairs are very coarse, so it’s easy to see why they are undesirable in a garment. But still OK for mittens.

Thanks Denise! Smile

