I like to write a lot about strange cases, anomalies, and sick animals. Though they are the biggest headache, I also find them the most intriguing. Today I will write about one of the rest: all of the perfectly normal, perfectly boring sheep which are noteworthy for capturing none of my attention at all. Winking smile

This is number seven. Her green eartag starting with number zero reminds me that she is three. Her robust, twin ewelambs are standing to her right in the photo. She is not particularly eye-catching. She is a very modest size, probably no more than 120 pounds. She has some orange spots here and there, but is a very plain color. She sheds properly. She is rather cobby, perhaps even a bit stuffy in body type. She would not win at a show, though she is physically sound. She has a bland personality, not friendly, not standoffish.

When I look at her, absolutely nothing at all comes to mind. I have to look at my records to jog my memory. I’ve de-wormed her twice in her lifetime. I’ve trimmed her hooves five times, and always noted them as scoring well. I’ve done fecal tests on her twice, and both times the counts were low. She has never needed any medication or other aid. I have vaccinated her so she will pass immunity on to her lambs. That’s about it.

She’s had five lambs in her three years. Three butcher lambs prior and twin ewes this year. I gave her first lamb a slight assist in birthing, but he may have delivered fine if I hadn’t been there. Other than that, all I’ve done with her lambs is tag and weigh them at birth.

She is a very responsible mother. During the weeks of lambing, I always do one last check in the pasture before I go to bed. I look to see if newer lambs are bedded down with their mothers. Any that I’m annoyed to find separated, I return them to their dams, to make sure they are pairing properly. But with number seven, that is never necessary. Her lambs are always with her, even now, she keeps very good track of them. She produces good milk and her lambs grow well. Her udder is healthy with no signs of mastitis lumps.

She is not one of my top ewes, but she is solid producer.  I call ewes like this bread-and-butter ewes, because they are the ones in the flock that reliably produce income with the least amount of inputs or complication. She is not a lard-butt 180 pound ewe that eats a ton. She doesn’t grow thin from worm load, or have an udder that goes to hell upon weaning. Thus far, she has not had tricky triplets or any questionable mothering incidents. With very modest feed, and very little work from me, she will likely be a steady producer of twins for many years to come. She’s really very boring, which is precisely what one wants in a flock of pasture ewes.

