WordPress, where my blog is hosted, sent this annual summary today. I think this is a new feature, and it’s kind of fun. Occasionally I browse the blog traffic statistics, but most of the time I forget. I certainly never write with them in mind. When I look at these numbers, I realize I could probably make some dribble of an income off of advertising on the site. Certainly other people have found ways to make a living off of blogging (wouldn’t that be great!?!). But so far I’ve been too busy to research that, and who knows if I ever will?

I’m always amazed when I do look at the stats, at how many people are just out there in the blogosphere, how many of them come here, the kinds of things people are searching for that lead them here, and how posts I wrote long ago still get read. Some of them quite a lot. Those most-read posts, when I wrote them, I didn’t know people would constantly refer to them. It makes me feel like I should go back and edit them, to make sure they live up to their use case! When I started writing this blog, I had no goal, I just like to write. I had no idea where it would lead. Not only does it get read, but people often leave helpful comments and suggestions, I have made new “online friends” 😀 and even met some of them in person! How cool. Anyway, it’s fun to write, thanks for reading, hopefully you get some entertainment out of our crazy farm and all its goings-on. Below is my 2010 traffic report. So I guess the llama, duck eggs, concrete and fencing are the things people most love to read about. 😉

~~~~~

The stats helper monkeys at WordPress.com mulled over how this blog did in 2010, and here’s a high level summary of its overall blog health:

Healthy blog!

The Blog-Health-o-Meter™ reads Wow.

Crunchy numbers

Featured image

About 3 million people visit the Taj Mahal every year. This blog was viewed about 38,000 times in 2010. If it were the Taj Mahal, it would take about 5 days for that many people to see it.

In 2010, there were 148 new posts, growing the total archive of this blog to 410 posts. There were 908 pictures uploaded, taking up a total of 89mb. That’s about 2 pictures per day.

The busiest day of the year was November 22nd with 372 views. The most popular post that day was Loyal Llama.

Where did they come from?

The top referring sites in 2010 were ebeyfarm.blogspot.com, jomegat.wordpress.com, canfieldfarms.com, blogger.com, and Google Reader.

Some visitors came searching, mostly for candling duck eggs, duck tractor, homemade dog food, wedge-loc, and sheep hooves.

Attractions in 2010

These are the posts and pages that got the most views in 2010.

1

Loyal Llama November 2010
10 comments

2

Fence Posts: Wet or Dry Cure Concrete? May 2009
2 comments

3

Candling Duck Eggs October 2009
2 comments

4

The Case for the H-Brace June 2008
19 comments

5

Field Fence Stretching July 2009
5 comments

Some of your most popular posts were written before 2010. Your writing has staying power! Consider writing about those topics again.